What is Indian Philosophy and What Does It Mean?

What is Indian Philosophy and What Does It Mean?

July 1, 2021 Off By Felso

Indian Philosophy is the general name given to the philosophical teachings developed by the peoples living in India. Indian philosophy is the philosophical process considered within the scope of classical Ancient philosophy. Indian philosophy is traditionally a religious and mystical philosophy. Under this religious and mystical cover, the main problem of philosophy emerges as idealism (thoughtism) and materialism (materialism).

Indian philosophy is traditionally a religious and mystical philosophy. India, a country where various races mingle and melt into each other, is generally regarded as the cradle of religious philosophy. In India, even the simplest beliefs have a philosophical value. The distinctive feature of Indian religious philosophy is its individuality.

The essence under the guise of this philosophy cannot be learned and taught. A person can obtain this essence that will ensure his own salvation only by his own reflection. Individual reflection is the source of mysticism. In this regard, India should be regarded as the true homeland of mysticism. Another feature of Indian beliefs is that all Indian religions derive from each other. The source of all these religions is Vedicism of the Vedas, which are considered to be the original and oldest natives of India. Vedism is the national and oldest religion of India. Polytheistic Vedaism gradually gave rise to Brahmanism, which reconciled polytheism with monotheism, and later Hinduism, which is a more developed one.

BC Buddhism and Jainism, which emerged as a reform of this understanding of religion in the 6th century, are perversions that lead the theistic understanding to atheism. Numerous sects and sects have developed these basic religious philosophies. Vedicism is the source of mythology as well as the source of religious philosophy. The Mahabharata and Ramayana epics were added later to the Vedas, which are a very rich mythological source. 850 languages ​​are spoken in India. Sanskrit, the official language of India, was brought by the Aryan invaders (these blond northerners called themselves arias meaning noble and considered the natives of India pariah meaning low people). Indians take Bharat to their country.

It is generally divided into four periods:

BC From the 15th century AD. The Vedic period, which lasted until the 6th century,
BUSINESS. The classical or Brahman-Buddhist period, lasting from the 6th to the 10th centuries,
The post-classical or Hinduist period from the 10th to the 18th centuries
The new era from the 18th century to the present.

Bharata is the mythological ancestor of the Indians. The Mahabharata epic tells the story of the Bharatas. Indian polytheism expresses many aspects of a single god. In this respect it is basically a monotheism. All nature is abstracted as a divine additional power under the name of Brahman.

This one power appears to people in the form of three separate gods: Brahma, Vishnu, Siva. These three gods, who have three different aspects of one power, also have various aspects as multiplicity in oneness: For example, Siva has eight aspects: Bhava (existence), Bhairava (awesome) etc… Aditya of Vedicism is a group of six gods. Aditya (kosmos), son of Aditi (freedom), one of the various aspects of mother earth Matar, in these six aspects are Bhaga (protector of property), Aryantan (protector of people), Amsa, etc. It is known by various names such as Even the Buddha of Buddhism, which is considered an atheistic heresy, later came into being with Buddhas who were ascribed various appearances. Aksobhya (unshakable), Bhaisajyaguru (cure for troubles), Amida (eternal light), Avalokitesvara (pity for the damned) etc. They are different aspects of Buddha.

These polytheists, who are different aspects of the one god, also take on various appearances in their various avatars. Moreover, these gods easily transform into each other. For example, Vishnu becomes Rama in some places and Krishna in others. The unity of the universal being is thus multiplied by the various aspects required by the various tasks.

Some scholars have suggested that Indian mythology is the source of various mythologies. The father god Diyaus pitar (Greek Zeus pater), the night goddess Nakta (Greek Nyks), the wind god Vata (Scandinavian Votan), the sky god Varuna (Greek Uranus, Persian Ahura) can be cited as examples of the many plausible evidences identified by these researchers.

In India, religion, art and philosophy (in a mystical structure) developed intermingled. The Rig-Veda is the first holy book of humanity and dates back to BC. It is thought to have been built around 1500 BC. The first understanding is a polytheistic understanding of the universe, which is thought to have emanated from the Sumerian civilization.

The Rig-Veda proposes a very permanent and sound principle that is valid today: It is action that brings into existence. However, all these religious and mystical speculations were aimed at reinforcing class divisions. Especially in the development of Indian philosophy, this fact can be seen tangibly. At the head of these classes, called caste, is the caste of the clergy (Brahmans, meaning clergy). under him the Arya caste of nobles and warriors, then with the workers