What is Sovereignty? What Are the Types of Sovereignty?

What is Sovereignty? What Are the Types of Sovereignty?

June 28, 2021 Off By Felso

Sovereignty is the ability to use the power arising from being a power in the society without any pressure. Sovereignty is one of the basic elements of the state and its distinguishing features. In order for the state to be formed, a superior political authority must be exercised over the society. The forms of use of this authority are also called types of sovereignty. In this sense, sovereignty is an integral feature of being in power. Sovereign is the authority that has power and does not share this power with anyone, and there are different types of this authority.

TYPES OF Dominion
1. Traditional Sovereignty

Traditional dominance is determined by the traditional values ​​(traditions, customs, traditions, customs) on which the society is based. This type of domination is valid in undeveloped primitive societies. Sovereignty belongs to a particular person or a particular family, not to the people. Emirate, kingdom, sheikh etc. countries can be given as an example of this type of sovereignty.

2. Charismatic Domination

It is a type of dominance based on the charisma found in the leader. Charisma is a term used to describe leaders with outstanding and fascinating qualities. Charismatic leaders draw their strength from the achievements they bring to society.

3. Democratic and Legal Sovereignty

This style of domination is based on human reason and logic. Sovereignty is based on law and is exercised within the framework of legal rules. The ways and limits of obtaining and exercising sovereignty are determined by constitutions. It is essential for the government to use the will of the people while exercising sovereignty.

Prepared by: Sociologist Ömer Yıldırım